

August 12, 2024

The State Fair of Texas Board of Directors

Attn: Bruce Sifford, Board Chair

925 S. Haskell

Dallas, TX 75223

We, the undersigned, write to you today, encouraging you to rescind your policy which bans lawabiding citizens from carrying firearms at the State Fair of Texas. While it may be that your new policy placates some, the result will make your patrons *less* safe.

We bring to your attention a few key statistics to support this position:

- 82% of mass public shooting since 1998, and 94% since 1950, have occurred in places where guns are banned.¹
- Armed civilians have stopped attacks in 35% of "mass shootings" in "gun free" zones. When you exclude "gun free" zones from that statistic, the number balloons to over 51% of mass shootings were stopped by an armed civilian.²

Gun free zones are magnets for crime because they present less of a threat to those who seek to do evil. Law-abiding citizens in the United States use firearms daily to defend themselves against criminals. Recent tragedies have demonstrated the sad reality that you can die while waiting on law enforcement to save your life --- Those who choose to assume responsibility for their own safety understand this harsh reality

The State Fair of Texas claims to be a "celebration of all things Texas," yet this new policy is anything but a celebration of Texas.

¹ Updated information on Mass Public Shootings from 1998 through October 2023 (crimeresearch.org)

² https://crimeresearch.org/2024/07/massive-errors-in-fbis-active-shooting-reports-from-2014-2023-regarding-cases-where-civilians-stop-attacks-instead-of-4-the-correct-number-is-at-least-35-excluding-gun-free-zones-it-avera/

The Texas Legislature has repeatedly enhanced Texans' Second Amendment Rights, but your actions raise questions about the need for legislation next Session to further protect these rights on lands managed by the public.

Should you have any questions or wish to discuss our opposition to this policy further, please do not hesitate to contact any of our offices.

Respectfully,

Trent Ashby

Trent Ashly

State Rep., District 9

Keith Bell

State Rep., District 4

Areg Bonnen, MD

State Rep., District 24

Greg Bonnen, M.D.

Brad Buckley

State Rep. District 54

Ben Bumgarner

State Rep., District 63

Dustin Burrows

State Rep., District 83

Briscoe Cain

State Rep. District, 128

Giovanni Capriglione

D'Caprestione

State Rep., District 98

David Cook

State Rep., District 96

Duil P. We

Mano DeAyala

State Rep. District 133

Mark Dorazio

State Rep., District 122

James Frank

State Rep., District 69

gan B Ful

F. Dower

Frederick Frazier State Rep., District 61

SPEC

Gary Gates
State Rep., District 28

STAN GERDES

Stan Gerdes

State Rep., District 17

Craig Goldman

State Rep., District 97

OSof Hall
Bob Hall

Bob Hall

State Senator, District 2

Kelly Hancock

State Senator, District 9

Caroline Harris Davila

Sam Harless

State Rep., District 126

Cody Harris

State Rep., District 8

Caroline Harris Davila

State Rep., District 52

Brian Harrison

State Rep., District 10

Richard Hayes

State Rep., District 57

Redul S. Hayes

Cole Hefner

State Rep., District 5

Justin Holland

State Rep., District 33

Lacey Hull

State Rep., District 138

Locey Huce

Todd Hunter

State Rep., District 32



Carrie Isaac

State Rep., District 73

202-

Jacey Jetton

State Rep., District 26

Ken King

State Rep., District 88

Stan Kitzman

State Rep., District 85

Stan Lambert

State Rep., District 71

Brooks Landgraf

State Rep., District 81

Will Mill

Jeff Leach

State Rep., District 67

Jeni Ler Wikon

Terri Leo Wilson

State Rep., District 23

Will Metcalf

State Rep., District 16

Mayes Middleton

Mayer Middlet

State Senator, District 11

Geanie Morrison

State Rep., District 30

Candy Noble

State Rep., District 89

Candy nonce

Tom Oliverson, MD

State Rep. District 130

Angelia Orr

State Rep., District 13

angelia On

Jared Patterson

State Rep. District 106

Dun Pal

Dennis Paul

State Rep., District 129

Genn Kogers

Glen Rogers

State Rep., District 129

M. 5.1

Matt Schaefer

State Rep., District 6

Nate Schatzline

State Rep., District 93

WS Thaken

Matt Shaheen

State Rep. District 66

Shelly Sleuren

Shelby Slawson State Rep., District 59

Reggie Smith

State Rep., District 62

David Spill

David Spiller

State Rep., District 68

Drew Springer

State Senator, District 30

Lynn Stucky

State Rep., District 64

Sym D. Stucky DVM

Valoree Swanson

State Rep., District 150

Valoree Swanson

Carl Tepper

State Rep., District 84

Kronda Thimesch

Knowda Mimesch

State Rep., District 65

Ed Thompson

State Rep., District 29

Steve Toth

State Rep., District 15

Ellen Inoxdain

Ellen Troxclair

State Rep., District 19

Charles Perry

State Senator, District 28

Day Can Deaver

Gary Vandeaver

State Rep., District 1

Cody Vasut

State Rep., District 25

Daniel Alders

Republican Nominee, District 6

Pat Curry

Republican Nominee, District 80

Hillary Hickland

Republican Nominee, District 55

Janis Holt

Republican Nominee, District 18

Mitch Little

Republican Nominee, District 65

David Lowe

Republican Nominee, District 91

Shelley Luther

Republican Nominee, District 62

Don McLaughlin

Republican Nominee District 80

Joanne Shofner

Republican Nominee, District 11

Wes Virdell

Republican Nominee, District 53

^{*}updated 8/12/24 @ 3pm